Durham Public Library Book Club

Join us for a lively discussion of The Woman Before Wallis by Bryn Turnbull. Books are available to be checked out at the circulation desk and are available on Hoopla. Register to receive the Zoom link!

Monday, December 6 at 6:30 PM via Zoom. Register HERE

For fans of The Paris Wife and The Crown, this stunning historical novel tells the true story of Thelma Morgan Furness, the American divorcée who captured Edward’s heart before he abdicated his throne for Wallis Simpson in a scandal that rocked the British monarchy.
In the summer of 1925, Thelma Morgan arrives at the Paris Ritz still stinging from the heartache and humiliation of her failed marriage. Her twin sister, Gloria, newly and blissfully wedded to Reginald Vanderbilt and with a baby in tow, has invited her to spend the summer-and though romance is the last thing on Thelma’s mind, she can’t deny that Reggie’s friend Duke Furness is as charming and dapper as he is keen to win her affection.
When Thelma marries Duke-a British viscount-she finds herself immersed in a gilded world of extraordinary wealth and aristocracy, where politeness is valued over morality and the rules of conduct differ wildly depending on your sex and the family into which you were born. In a twist of fate, her second marriage leads her to fall headlong into a love affair with Edward, Prince of Wales. But happiness is fleeting, and their love is threatened when Thelma’s sister becomes embroiled in a scandal with far-reaching implications. As Thelma sails to New York to support Gloria, she leaves Edward in the hands of her trusted friend Wallis, never imagining the consequences that will follow.

The Poison Squad

Now meeting on the third Tuesday of the month. Join us on Tuesday, Sept. 21 at 7:00 p.m. to discuss The Poison Squad: One Chemist’s Single-Minded Crusade for Food Safety at the Turn of the 20th Century by Deborah Blum. Copies of the book will be available at the checkout desk beginning August 1. This book discussion is open to all and registration is required. You will receive a link to the zoom meeting by 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept 21. Register here.

Archer Mayor & Friends

New-England based authors have new books out this fall! Join us for a virtual author event  featuring New York Times bestselling author Archer Mayor in conversation with fellow New England mystery writers Sarah Stewart Taylor, Paula Munier, and Julia Spencer-Fleming. In partnership with RJ Julia, who will be making books available for sale during the program. Learn more about the authors’ new books here!

We’ll be discussing new releases and answering your questions!  A link to the event will be emailed to all registrants. 

Tuesday November 10 7 PM

Registration required. Please register here.

Hoopla Book Club Hub

Join us for an online book discussion using Zoom software! We’re reading News of the World by Paulette Jiles

In the wake of the Civil War, Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels through northern Texas, giving live readings from newspapers to paying audiences hungry for news of the world. An elderly widower who has lived through three wars and fought in two of them, the captain enjoys his rootless, solitary existence.

In Wichita Falls, he is offered a $50 gold piece to deliver a young orphan to her relatives in San Antonio. Four years earlier, a band of Kiowa raiders killed Johanna’s parents and sister; sparing the little girl, they raised her as one of their own. Recently rescued by the U.S. army, the ten-year-old has once again been torn away from the only home she knows.

Their 400-mile journey south through unsettled territory and unforgiving terrain proves difficult and at times dangerous. Johanna has forgotten the English language, tries to escape at every opportunity, throws away her shoes, and refuses to act “civilized.” Yet as the miles pass, the two lonely survivors tentatively begin to trust each other, forming a bond that marks the difference between life and death in this treacherous land.


Download a copy of the e-book or e-audiobook immediately on Hoopla (with your Durham Library card) here.  No holds and no waiting. Registration and email address required to receive a zoom link. We will email a Zoom link to all registered participants prior to the meeting. Please register here.

Online discussion (from the comfort of your own home!) will take place on Tuesday October 20 at 7:00 PM. See you then!