In order to expand Internet access to library patrons, the Library has established a Wi-Fi hotspot lending program. The hotspots are provided by T-Mobile and funded by a gift from Harvard Pilgrim Healthcare and PALS: The Friends of the Durham Public Library.
Loans and Holds
Hotspots are available to Connecticut library card holders ages 18 and up with fines of less than $10.00. Patrons must present their valid Connecticut public library card at the time of checkout.
Checkouts are limited to one hotspot per household at any given time. Hotspots may be checked out for one week and cannot be renewed.
Hotspots may be reserved by placing a hold online or by calling the library. Devices will be held for two days. If the device is not picked up by the end of the second day, the hold will be cancelled and the device will move to the next person in line.
At the time of checkout, patrons must sign a Hotspot Use Agreement, acknowledging the Library’s Hotspot Use Policy.
The Library reserves the right to refuse lending to patrons who abuse equipment or who repeatedly return Hotspots late.
Hotspots must be picked up and returned at the Durham Public Library circulation desk. Hotspots must never be returned to another library or placed in the book drops.
Patrons are responsible for the proper care and use of the Wi-Fi hotspot. We recommend that patrons have a basic working knowledge of the device on checkout. If you encounter any technical problems, contact Library Director Christine Michaud at firstname.lastname@example.org or 860-349-9544, ext. 5.
The Library is not responsible for any liability, damages, or expense resulting from use or misuse of the hotspot and its connection to other electronic devices, or data loss resulting from use of the Hotspot. Any use of the device for illegal purposes, unauthorized copying of copyright-protected material in any format, or transmission of threatening, harassing, defamatory or obscene materials is strictly prohibited.
Wi-Fi service will be turned off if the hotspot is more than two days overdue, rendering the device unusable.
Loss or Damage
Overdue fines of $5 per day, to a maximum of $20, will be charged for late hotspots.
Hotspots that are two weeks or more overdue are considered lost. Patrons will be charged a $100.00 replacement fee if the hotspot is lost or damaged.
Patrons will be charged a replacement fee not to exceed $20 if a charging block or case is lost or damaged.
Socialize With Us
Tweets by DurhamLibraryCT